Happy New Year to everyone…I just wanted to share my top 10 OuterNational Reggae Choices for 2009. The main criteria for picking these has been quality of song and not sales or popularity. I prefer to play songs that have a crafted, gifted sound than ones that have been mass-produced for the purpose of popularity…So here they are with some short blurb on why they have been chosen..

OuterNational Song Chart 2009

1. America – Albarosie – top tune, heavy message and sounds great blasted loud. Albarosie is at his finest on this as a next generation singjay stylee dj and conscious roots singer.

2. Judgment Day – Bill Ortiz – reggae instrumental covers can be bland but this one rocks. Bill Ortiz plays trumpet for Santana and his new CD ‘From Where I Stand’ is one of the most spiritual releases of the year.

3. The Way Life Should Be – Joan Baez & Rocker T – a very historic collaboration that links so many people together. Just that one line ‘We’ve all got to stop the war before we die’ seals it for me.

4. Reggae Feelin’ – Tune In Crew feat Dynamiq – a new Crew to me but they sound very seasoned production wise. Dropped at the right time in the dance you are gaurenteed to have the masses skanking.
5. Green 4 Life – Kiddus I – title track and great to have a new release from this classic singer. Also look out for the version release of ‘Graduation in Zion’. You can interpret the tune how you want…either way I am Green 4 Life.

6. Turn You Around – Tony Brown – from the first moment I heard this it just stuck in the player. One of the best love songs of 2009.

7. Mr Francois – Mojo Morgan – acoustic wise this is the tune of the year for me. A guitar and a voice and reality lyrics sung by a very fine singer – what more could you ask for.

8. One In a Million – Gramps Morgan – a very successful year for Gramps. I just love the way this song builds up. A great love song sung by one of the best reggae singers.

9. Never Give Up On Jah – Inner Circle – one of the longest surviving reggae bands still making music sound as fresh as always on this tune.

10. Thalassa – Dub Remix – Lia Vissy feat Haji Mike – produced by my brother Sonic Crime, I could have put another 3 tunes in here, like Babylon Time, Bless or Hate Breeds Hate that I have done with various people round the world in 2009 but this one, with Lia’s voice is very special to me.

OuterNational Radio Show with Haji Mike on BigUp Radio 5am, 11am, 5pm and 11pm EST & amp @ http://www.bigupradio.com; Sundays Astra Radio 92.8FM 11-midnight http://www.astra.com.cy

